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STATE OF WISCONSIN  
DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

 
PETITION AND ORDER TO REPEAL UNAUTHORIZED RULES 

_________________________________________________________________ 

 

The Department of Transportation hereby petitions the Joint Committee for Review 

of Administrative Rules to repeal rules the department has determined to be 

unauthorized, using the process under s. 227.26 (4), Stats. 

_________________________________________________________________ 

PROPOSED ORDER. 

 
The Department of Transportation proposes an order to repeal s. Trans 154.12 (4) (c), 

relating to Vehicle Odometer Disclosure Requirements. 

 
ANALYSIS 

 

Statutes interpreted: 

Sections 218.0146. 218.33, 218.52, 341.10, 342.01, 342.05, 342.06, 342.10. 

342.11, 342.14, 342.15, 342.155, 342.156, 342.157, 342.16, 342.18, 342.23, 
342.25, 342.255, 342.32, and 347.415, Stats. 

 
Statute authority: 

Section 347.415 (5), Stats. 

 
Explanation of the agency's authority: Section 347.415 (5), Stats. does not limit 

the requirements for repairing or replacing odometers and are not limited to vehicles 
less than 10 years old. 

 

Related statute or rule: Section 347.415 (5), Stats. 

 
Plain language analysis: Trans 154.12 (4) (c) requires Salvage Dealers keep 

information on odometers and electronic odometers chips sold or exchanged, but 

only when they are removed from a vehicle less than 10 years old. Section 347.415 
(5), Stats. does not limit this record keeping requirement to vehicles less than 10 
years old. 

 
Agency contact person:  

 Reed McGinn 
 Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

 Division of Motor Vehicles 
 4822 Madison Yards Way 
 Madison, WI  53705  

 (608) 266-7857 



 reed.mcginn@dot.wi.gov 

 
PROPOSED RULE 

 

SECTION 1. TRANS 154.12 (4) (c) is amended to read: 

 
Trans 154.12 (4) (c) Required information on odometers and electronic odometer chips 

must be recorded at the time of sale or exchange and retained for 5 years following the 

date of sale or exchange. These records are required only when the part is removed from 
a vehicle less than 10 years old and sold or exchanged as a separate part. 
 

SECTION 2. EFFECTIVE DATE. The rules repealed in this order shall take effect 

on the first day of the month following publication in the Wisconsin Administrative 

Register, pursuant to s. 227.22 (2) (intro.), Stats. 

 
 
 

(END OF RULE TEXT) 

  
     Signed this ____ day of ______________ 2019. 
 

 
 

             
     ___________________________________________ 
     Joel Nilsestuen 

Assistant Deputy Secretary 
     State of Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
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